US Presidents

US Presidents: Complete List of Presidents of the United States

US Presidents!!! In this lesson, we will list all US Presidents in order. Below are the 44 men who have served as president of the United States.

US Presidents

The president of the United States is the head of state and head of government of the United States, indirectly elected to a four-year term by the people through the Electoral College.

List of US Presidents

List of Presidents of the United States:

  • George Washington
  • John Adams
  • Thomas Jefferson
  • James Madison
  • James Monroe
  • John Quincy Adams
  • Andrew Jackson
  • Martin Van Buren
  • William Henry Harrison
  • John Tyler
  • James K. Polk
  • Zachary Taylor
  • Millard Fillmore
  • Franklin Pierce
  • James Buchanan
  • Abraham Lincoln
  • Andrew Johnson
  • Ulysses S. Grant
  • Rutherford Birchard Hayes
  • James A. Garfield
  • Chester A. Arthur
  • Grover Cleveland
  • Benjamin Harrison
  • Grover Cleveland
  • William McKinley
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • William H. Taft
  • Woodrow Wilson
  • Warren G. Harding
  • Calvin Coolidge
  • Herbert Hoover
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt
  • Harry S. Truman
  • Dwight D. Eisenhower
  • John F. Kennedy
  • Lyndon B. Johnson
  • Richard M. Nixon
  • Gerald R. Ford
  • Jimmy Carter
  • Ronald Reagan
  • George Bush
  • Bill Clinton
  • George W. Bush
  • Barack Obama
  • Donald J. Trump

Chronological List of US Presidents

This is the US Presidents list with their Presidency and Party.

U.S. Presidents Year Party
George Washington 1789-1797 Unaffiliated
John Adams 1797-1801 Federalist
Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809 Democratic-
James Madison 1809-1817 Democratic-
James Monroe 1817-1825 Democratic-
John Quincy Adams 1825-1829 Democratic-
Andrew Jackson 1829-1837 Democratic
Martin Van Buren 1837-1841 Democratic
William Henry Harrison 1841 Whig
John Tyler 1841-1845 Whig (1841)
Unaffiliated (1841-1845)
James K. Polk 1845-1849 Democratic
Zachary Taylor 1849-1850 Whig
Millard Fillmore 1850-1853 Whig
Franklin Pierce 1853-1857 Democratic
James Buchanan 1857-1861 Democratic
Abraham Lincoln 1861-1865 Republican

(National Union)

Andrew Johnson 1865-1869 National Union (1865-1868)
Democratic (1868-1869)
Ulysses S. Grant 1869-1877 Republican
Rutherford Birchard Hayes 1877-1881 Republican
James A. Garfield 1881 Republican
Chester A. Arthur 1881-1885 Republican
Grover Cleveland 1885-1889
Benjamin Harrison 1889-1893 Republican
William McKinley 1897-1901 Republican
Theodore Roosevelt 1901-1909 Republican
William H. Taft 1909-1913 Republican
Woodrow Wilson 1913-1921 Democratic
Warren G. Harding 1921-1923 Republican
Calvin Coolidge 1923-1929 Republican
Herbert Hoover 1929-1933 Republican
Franklin D. Roosevelt 1933-1945 Democratic
Harry S. Truman 1945-1953 Democratic
Dwight D. Eisenhower 1953-1961 Republican
John F. Kennedy 1961-1963 Democratic
Lyndon B. Johnson 1963-1969 Democratic
Richard M. Nixon 1969-1974 Republican
Gerald R. Ford 1974-1977 Republican
Jimmy Carter 1977-1981 Democratic
Ronald Reagan 1981-1989 Republican
George Bush 1989-1993 Republican
Bill Clinton 1993-2001 Democratic
George W. Bush 2001-2009 Republican
Barack Obama 2009-2017 Democratic
Donald J. Trump 2017- Republican

US Presidents | Infographic

Presidents of the United States

US Presidents

List of Presidents of the United States

List of US Presidents

US Presidents: Complete List of Presidents of the United States 1

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Richard Swartz
Richard Swartz
1 month ago

I Love The List Of All The Names Of All. Them, Grate For Teaching History

Hoola potato
Hoola potato
29 days ago

love it but would love if you put the dates in office and the nuber of the president like Harry S. Truman would be the 33rd president

Hoola potato
Hoola potato
29 days ago

sorry I didn’t see the dates but the number would be nice

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x