Solar System Planets: 9 Names of Planets in the Solar System

Solar System Planets!!! There are more planets than stars in our galaxy. The current count orbiting our star is eight planets.

Solar System Planets

The Solar System is the gravitationally bound system of the Sun and the objects that orbit it, either directly or indirectly. Of the objects that orbit the Sun directly, the largest are the eight planets, with the remainder being smaller objects, such as the five dwarf planets and small Solar System bodies.

A planet is an astronomical body orbiting a star or stellar remnant that is massive enough to be rounded by its own gravity, is not massive enough to cause thermonuclear fusion, and has cleared its neighboring region of planetesimals. Five planets in the Solar System are visible to the naked eye.

Planet Names

The eight known planets of the Solar System:

  • Mercury
  • Venus
  • Earth
  • Mars
  • Jupiter
  • Neptune
  • Saturn
  • Uranus
  • (Pluto)

Names of Planets

Planet Names

Examples of Planet Names



  • They launched a rocket to the planet, Venus.


  • The Earth rotates on its axis once every 24 hours.


  • The atmosphere of Mars could not support life.


  • The planet Jupiter may have no solid surface at all.


  • Neptune is one of the farthest planets of the Solar System.


  • Saturn is the slowest mover of all the planets.


  • The first to be discovered telescopically was Uranus.


  • The planet Pluto is comparable in size to the moon.


  • The sun disappeared behind the clouds.


  • The fog cleared away and the full moon appeared.

The Solar System | Infographic

Picture of Solar System Planets

Solar System Planets

Last Updated on January 19, 2021

3 thoughts on “Solar System Planets: 9 Names of Planets in the Solar System”

Leave a Comment